Our Board of Directors

ZL (KK) Combi (66)

Diploma in Public Relations

Chairperson of the Board, independent non-executive director, member of human capital committee and chairperson of the nomination committee

Mr Combi was the executive chairman of Thembeka Capital Ltd. He holds a diploma in public relations and was awarded the EY South African of the Year award in 2000, as well as the World Entrepreneur of the Year in Managing Change award in 2001. Mr Combi is a member of the Institute of Directors and serves on various listed and unlisted companies’ boards.

Director since 29 March 2010.

N (Norman) Celliers (44)

B Eng (Civil), Dip.Soc (Oxon),  MBA (Oxon)

Non-executive director, member of the human capital, nomination and risk committees

Mr Celliers holds a B Eng (Civil) degree from the University of Stellenbosch and a MBA from the University of Oxford (England). His professional experience includes engineering, management consulting and private equity in South Africa and abroad. He has been the Chief Executive Officer of Zeder Investments Limited since 2012 and serves on numerous boards including Capespan Group Limited (Chairman) and Quantum Foods Limited.

Director since 1 October 2012.

NS (Nonhlanhla) Mjoli-Mncube (59)

MA (City and Regional Planning), Executive leadership qualifications (Harvard and Wharton, USA), Postgraduate Certificate: Technology Management (Warwick, UK)

Independent non-executive director, member of the social and ethics committee

Ms Mjoli-Mncube is a fellow of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and Aspen Global Leadership Institute, USA. She is the former economic advisor to the Presidency and former deputy chair of the Construction Industry Development Board. Ms Mjoli-Mncube serves on the boards of several listed companies and has held executive positions. She is also a recipient of the SABC Businesswoman of the Year Award and currently manages her own construction company.

Director since 25 November 2004.

AH (Andile) Sangqu (51)

B Com (Acc), B Compt (Hons), CTA, Higher Dipl Tax, MBL

Independent non-executive director, chairman of the risk committee

Drawing on 14 years of financial management experience at some of South Africa’s revered corporations, Mr Sangqu has garnered a deep understanding of the commercial market and business landscape. He has completed an Executive Development Programme (EDP) at Wits University as well as a Master’s Degree in Business Leadership at Unisa’s Graduate School of Business Leadership (SBL) in 2001. He has completed a High Performance Board (HPB) program at IMD Lausanne campus in Switzerland in October 2013. Mr Sangqu served as deputy-director-general (Finance and Corporate Services) of the National Department of Public Works, as well as being the former chief executive officer of Prodigy-Coris Asset Management and managing director of Budget Foods (Pty) Ltd. He currently serves as Executive Head of Anglo American South Africa.

Director since 24 February 2006.

Prof ASM (Mohammad) Karaan (49)

B Sc Agric, B Sc Agric (hons), M Sc Agric, PhD

Independent non-executive director, chairman of social and ethics committee

Prof Karaan joined the Development Bank of Southern Africa as an economist and later returned to Stellenbosch to join the Rural Foundation as Head of Research. In 1997, he joined the University of Stellenbosch as a lecturer in Agricultural Economics. In October 2008, he became Dean of the Faculty of Agri Sciences at Stellenbosch University. He is a member of the National Planning Commission and holds other directorships in the agribusiness sector.

Director since 29 March 2010.

NW (Norman) Thomson (66)

B Com, CA(SA)

Lead independent non-executive director, chairman of the human capital committee, member of the nomination, audit and risk committees

Mr Thomson served as group finance director of Woolworths from 2001 until 2013. He served as a non-executive director on the boards of various Woolworths’ subsidiaries during 2014, including Country Road in Australia, where he was the chairman of the Remuneration and Audit & Risk committees. Mr Thomson held the position of chairman of the Woolworths’ subsidiaries in Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda, Nigeria and Zambia. Mr Thomson holds a B Com degree from Rhodes University and is a qualified Chartered Accountant.

Director since 19 November 2015.

PJ (Piet) Mouton (41)

B Com (Maths)

Non-executive director, member of the risk committee

Mr Mouton is the chief executive officer of the PSG Group. He currently serves as a director on the boards of various PSG Group companies, including Curro Holdings, PSG Konsult, Zeder Investments and Capitec Bank. Mr Mouton holds a B Com (Maths) degree from Stellenbosch University.

Director since 19 November 2015.

SS (Sango) Ntsaluba (57)

B Com, B Compt (Hons), CTA, CA(SA), H Dip Tax Law

Independent non-executive director and a member of the nomination, risk and human capital committees

Mr Ntsaluba is the founding chief executive officer and executive chairman of Amabubesi Investments. He currently serves as a director on the boards of Barloworld. National Housing Finance Corporation, Basil Read and Ubank. Mr Ntsaluba holds a BCompt (Hons) degree from the University of South Africa and is a qualified Chartered Accountant (South Africa).

Director since 19 November 2015.

LE (Lindiwe) Mthimunye (43)

B Com, Postgraduate Diploma: Accounting, Postgraduate Diploma: Tax Law, M Com, CA(SA)

Independent non-executive director, member of the audit committee.

Ms Mthimunye-Bakoro is a Chartered Accountant (SA) and has extensive governance, finance and business experience, having worked in investment banking and served on the boards of various listed and unlisted companies including Woolworths, Group 5, Sea Harvest, PetroSA and Hyundai Automotive South Africa.

Director since 1 November 2016.


BCom Law, LLB, (Hons) CTA, Qualified Chartered Accountant

Independent non-executive director, chairman of the audit committee

Mr Botha has a background in auditing, management consulting, corporate finance, investment management and private equity investment. He has served on numerous boards spanning a number of industries. Mr Botha currently serves on the boards of Novus Holdings, WebAfrica and New Seasons Investment Fund.

Director since 11 December 2018.

Tertius Carstens (55)

B Eng (Chem), MBA

Chief Executive Officer*

Tertius Carstens has 20 years’ experience within the Group, before and after the merger, in managerial and executive capacities. He is the executive responsible for the Essential Foods division.

He has been with the Group since 1994.

Felix Lombard (49)

M Com (Tax), CA(SA)

Chief Financial Officer

Felix Lombard started his career with the Group in 1995 as head of information systems at Bokomo and then Pioneer Foods. He was until recently the Business Executive for the Groceries Division and was appointed as Chief Financial Officer of the group from 1 July 2017. In addition to his finance responsibilities, he is accountable for IT and M&A.

He has been with the Group since 1995.